The top 5

I was asked by a journalist today to put together my list of top 5 courses on the continent of Europe. That means outside of Great Britain and Ireland. As I sat there reflecting I felt I just couldn’t do another list of great course. Anybody could do that by checking previous lists and and adding a bit of their own experience. That just did not feel right. And besides the number of courses that I have played in Europe is limited. I tend to experience golf courses from the sideline. From the rough, outside the ropes or just on a decent distance away from where the playing takes place.

Therefore I turned into John Cusack. You know, when he plays the lead character in High Fidelity. The film based on Nick Hornby’s excellent book. He spends his days producing top 10 lists and does not really care about the fact that the customers in his record store are more interested in their own lists than buying his albums. I did my very own top 5 list of European Golf courses! It won’t tick everybody’s box but it will be unique to me!

As I slowly come to think about my new job, starting in early October, that uniqueness is something I come back to. How do you make Sweden’s Elite Performance in Sport the best in the World? There is only one way. It has got to be unique!

And if you wonder what is unique with Sweden, Google the Daily Show + Sweden. Jon Stewart discusses the fears of America turning into Sweden. Simply hilarious!

And my list? Check the next edition of Golf World!

0 Responses to “The top 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

RSS Brian Roake’s England Boys blog

  • Raymond loses out to Irishman Whitson in the Spanish Amateur March 5, 2013
    Irishman Reeve Whitson prevented Neil Raymond from keeping the Spanish Amateur Championship in English hands when he beat the Hampshire man 4 and 3 in the 36-hole final at La Manga.Although Raymond twice held a slender lead in the opening nine holes, he found himself 2-down at lunch after the man from Mourne eased ahead […]
  • USA’s Sean Dale wins Jones Cup February 4, 2013
    University of North Florida’s Sean Dale is the 2013 Jones Cup Invitational champion. The Osprey senior posted a final round 69 to finish the tournament with 213 (-3). Withthe win Dale adds to a solid playing resume that includes a win in the 2010 Florida State Amateur Championship. Starting the day at even par, Dale got his […]

