Job done!

Six years in the service of the English Golf Union and it is about time I summarise and wrap things up. I know that many people like to have a bit of a break between jobs to reflect and gather momentum for the new tasks that lie ahead. Whether the two hour lunch with my wife that I had on Friday can count as a gap in between comittments I am not entirely sure! Yesterday was my first day in the new job and today I am back in the old one again. So rather than keeping things nice and tidy with well defined start and stop dates I think I am doing everything against better knowledge. But, I guess that is what is called a gradual change. Any addiction needs careful treatment and I think my English Golf habit is best dealt with this way.

As I am embarking on my new challenge, to Direct the Elite Performance programmes of Swedish Sports, it is impossible not to reflect on the 6 very enjoyable years that I have had at the EGU. Without a doubt these years have been the steepest learning curve that I have experienced in my professional life. I am proud of what we have accomplished. Great results are just that – great. What counts though is the culture in which those results are produced. Only because that is the only indicator of future success. I believe that I now leave an organisation that is open and receptive to both praise and criticism and most importantly, have a habit of looking within to try to find an answer to whatever it might be that could be improved. When I today meet with the Coaching Committee the University of Central Lancashire are coming to present their findings from a study they have undertaken to give an independant view of the situation in the England Coaching programme. They have interviewed a large number of players and officials and contrasted the findings against both what we (I) have said that we want to be and against what the litterature suggests that a good talent development system should look like. I know all too well that when they present it is not the detail in what they say but the manner in which any suggested improvement is later dealt with that will determine England’s progress in the future. I am comfortable that this is left to a number of open minded and well equipped people that will carry an already successful programme forward.

When I left the Swedish Golf Federation a long time ago I quoted John Cougar Mellencamp. This time I think there is room for an old classic:

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

With that I will take a break from this blog. After all I cannot be DOC-blogging anymore. In some shape or form I will be back though. I will update my profiles on LinkedIn, Plaxo, Facebook and what have you, so if you would like to stay in touch please look out for me there. Until the EGU have a new DOC in place I will retain a small consultancy role but for day to day issues your best option is now to go straight to HQ.

0 Responses to “Job done!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other subscribers